Skip to content

And the inside of the card read …..

August 31, 2010

I am the luckiest guy in the world! I love you!

At the time he took me in …. I don’t think that anyone would have thought that would be his sentiment six months later. I was like an abandoned dog in a shelter. If someone would be kind enough to take me home, I would be loyal till the end of time. I remember when I was getting directions to his place, and I heard a sound I never thought I would ever hear …. and I thought to myself …. “Oh my god … is that what I think it is …. is he doing dishes?” It turned out my hearing was correct … the whole place was neat and clean and ready for my arrival. I said something to the effect that he wouldn’t need to be doing the dishes anymore after tonight … and he said, “Oh I know you are going to take great care of me.”

I woke up this morning to breakfast in bed. Well, we are staying at his sisters so I guess I should say breakfast on the couch but it had the same effect. I couldn’t have been in a better place for my 40th birthday party. Ola came home and so did all the party supplies. Tenzing handed me a big beautiful bouquet of flowers … which I had just randomly told him an hour prior that flowers was something he would never have to buy me … that I didn’t care. But I have never seen flowers like these. They were really unique and I did love them after all!

The three year old and I went to the pool to swim. It was 100 degrees in New Hampshire today. As we were both in the pool on our floating devices she said, “Heather …. I love you.” That was the first time I had ever heard that. The five year old was a little bit upset with me though, but she came around later. Every one always cheers up at a birthday party.

His sister wouldn’t let me do a thing in the kitchen. I produced a couple radio shows earlier in the day but that was about it for work. I mainly was just responding to well wishes on Facebook. We all ate outside together and there was a big bunch of balloons waiting for my seat at the head of the table. I gave each of the kids a balloon to tie on the wrist. They immediately found a way to engage in a new game of balloon fight. It was fun. I cracked open a bottle of champagne and poured it into a glass that was glowing red on the bottom when it was on the table … and green when I drank from the glass. I made a toast to the family and Ola said, “Welcome to the family.”

Ola had asked me what I wanted to eat earlier and Tenzing wanted Italian, but I like Indian curry so there was a remarkable blend of pasta and curry and fresh baked bread. I’m getting the recipe to try at home. I’ve been wanting to teach the girls to bake a good bread. Everything was absolutely delicious!

One way Tenzing really showed me he loved me just the way I am was last night at the fire. Apparently he had bummed a cigarette from someone at a bar while we were out the night before. As we were sitting outside drinking shots of almond Tequila he handed me a smoke! I had quit smoking but every once in awhile he knows I still enjoy a cigarette. I looked at him and said, ‘Oh my god, you really do love me.” Little did I know how much! This morning after breakfast, he handed me ANOTHER cigarette. I took a walk away from the children after dinner and enjoyed it while I returned phone calls I had missed from well wishers.

I was given a beautiful necklace from Ola with rings around it with different messages …. three of which read “PEACE”, one “HARMONY” and one “DREAM”. She had given me another necklace earlier in the week, so I now am not sure what to do….so I’m wearing them all with the shell necklace Tenzing made me in San Felipe. The mother of the girls gave me a pendant I had also brought with me to wear. I’m very grateful for all the gifts.

Of course my present from Tenzing will wait till we can get me the perfect camera that will allow us to do live streaming for Peace Day. I’m so glad he knows me so well. Exactly what I wanted …. and to me … it’s more of a need …. I am a shutter bug and having a camera in my hand is as natural as having fingers.

I jumped back in the pool to cool off and get rid of the smoke smell. Now it’s time to pack and return home tomorrow.

Every thing has changed, every thing is different and I never want to live in the past …. every e mail I receive, every phone call I get, and every thing that I do I share with Tenzing. We have no secrets and discuss things as a family unit, on how to move forward together that protects who we are and what we have.

Sure the past crosses my mind from time to time, wondering how those I left behind are doing, and I get a lump in my throat that I wasn’t able to have this before. But remember, I’m just that lost mutt who was lucky to have found a new home. By the way, on the left side of the card was a picture Tenzing drew of a house that looked just like where we lived, with a paraglider, hearts, a peace sign and the letters across the door wrote … HOME.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

