Skip to content

A long way home …..

August 29, 2010

I’ve traveled so much in my years I forget which direction is home. I’m now on the east coast again, and the shadow of my past somewhat haunts my dreams. I hadn’t flown back east since the last time I left L.A. Then I haven’t been this close to my former life since March, 2010. I dream a lot of New Jersey and I find myself frustrated I am so close but haven’t seen any of my old friends.

The great thing about being here is I’m coming to terms with this new way I have chosen to live. I am here with Tenzing and much of his family who has taken me in with open arms. His mother with a proper Irish accent even reminds me of my former Scottish mother-in-law except that she said, “Welcome to the family.”

His sister supports me when I need to discipline the children and they all have thanked me for the way I care for them, love and support them. I’m overwhelmed with gratitude that at the end of a long journey to find peace and happiness ….

Sometimes in life we are not always well. We are not always perfect, we are not always in good standing with those around us. Sometimes we need help back to the light. I have been spending much of my vacation here working towards Peace Day and realize how important it is to celebrate a moment where the world lays down it’s arms against one another …. that is what my new life is like.

I was in an invisible war with myself and ultimately the world around me. I chose peace in my lifetime, and I stopped fighting to win the battles that I thought could be won. No one ever really wins a war…..think of it … The War On Drugs, The War on Poverty … did you know Mother Teresa would never support a cause that was “A War on something…”

Well neither do I.

I now realize I can travel north, east, south, west and where I am is our home. I say all this all the time, but I mean it more every time I say it … We are all in this together.

Peace …..

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 30, 2010 9:09 am

    I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts.Any way Ill be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon

Leave a Reply

