Skip to content

I don’t know why she swallowed a fly….

August 16, 2010

There are so many critters out here where I live. First, there is a massive amount of spiders that are out this time of year. I have to break their webs to get to my destination a few times a day. They never listen that it’s not a good place to build a home on my path to do laundry.

We just figured out that we can’t open the doors between 8:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. because of all the mosquitoes. This is the first time I have not put in an AC unit where I live. Although, I happen to have one I left at my folks house over 6 years ago if I need it.

When I wear a bright shirt the Hummingbirds come right up to the window and look at me. I decided to hang a Hummingbird feeder from the window. I happened to be in Seattle at a class, Tenzing left to go play poker. I came home around midnight and went on the computer.

I have still had on and off hearing problems, so I thought I heard one of our computers hard drive running and about to crash. It took me a little while to look up and realize, that’s no computer crashing! That’s a Hummingbird in the house!

It was ridiculous! You should have seen me. Every time I turned the lights out with the door open, I thought it left. No, it turned out, it would go to sleep too. So when I got back up to do my work, all of a sudden (in my 250 foot square room) the Hummingbird is flying all around me. This is the only bird that could have survived this small space and hovered around looking at me. Just like a helicopter. It was amazing!

Then the cat “Shadow” the girls named her, came into the house. This cat is a hunter. She brings us mice, birds and two times a baby bunny rabbit alive (I think the same one). Oh God! I had to get Shadow out of the house! So I said, “Sorry Shadow, but you can’t kill the Hummingbird,” and tossed her out.

I finally went to bed with the lights on and the outside lights off. I fell asleep but had that strange sensation of someone looking at me. I get up from under the covers and look at the wide open door. There’s the Hummingbird. Hanging out hovering on the outside of the door, looking at me. So I walk up to the door, the cat comes running into the house and I say,  “Goodbye little one” as I shut the door.

Five minutes or so passes and I think I should open the door again. So I do! The Hummingbird is still there hovering around outside the door! What! So it seems to have said his/her goodbyes that time and zooms away into the night.

Now, in the bathroom the moths, daddy long legs, and flying spiders are coming in. This one got really mangled trying to get it out of the shower before I took one. I can’t do it. I can’t kill anything. I walk around conscious not to step on an aunt. I yell for Tenzing to take it outside. He grabs this flying spider and tosses it outside. I ask Tenzing, ” Mmm I thought putting it out of it’s misery would have been more appropriate?” He said, “How he dies is up to him to decide.”

Wow…that echoed true! So now when I see a moth struggling on it’s back I don’t make the decision to smoosh him and put the poor creature out of its misery. I get a piece of paper and stick him outside and let nature take it’s course. Of course, I don’t think that is something I could decide across the board. We are talking about insects here.

Anyway, these are a few of my Mutual of Omaha moments living out in the middle of nowhere. It doesn’t take long to decompress from city living.

Oh yeah, and Tenzing was bummed he missed the Hummingbird action, but he came home with over $400 from winning poker so that was OK.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

