Skip to content

Close Proximity

August 11, 2010

I was thinking last night how I have tended to always live in small quarters. Except for growing up, I pretty much always rented small houses, apartments or lived in hotel rooms. It was 5 months ago I left New Jersey, from my dank basement apartment that I paid $1,200 a month for.

Tenzing  invited me to come to Washington, and I asked, “Where am I going to live….with my parents?” He said, “No Heather, you are going to live with me. I think it’s fate, so I’m not going to worry about it.”

I woke up 5 months ago today, about the time I am writing this post, and I just knew … it was time to go. I packed all day and left by midnight. My first stop was in Madison, Wisconsin. This was the only place I would see a meal, drink, bed and shower. I spent 6 hours there.

It made me nervous to have what was left of my life in my car, so I decided I wouldn’t be making any more stops along the way.

I love road trips and always preferred them even when I had the option to fly for my former work. I remembered something a friend told me once, “If you are driving by something and you want to see it, if you say, we’ll see it on the way back … there never is a way back, that opportunity never comes.” So I have a rule to stop and look around as I journeyed west.

I drove the next 2,300 miles stopping by day at rest areas along the way. I would sleep for an hour, upright in my car, because I had so much stuff packed around me, I couldn’t lay the seat down. After an hours sleep I could drive another 8 hours or so and then need to sleep for 2 hours, alternating between 1 and 2 hours of sleep for the next 60 hours till I was to reach my destination. I stayed off the radio, off the phone as much as possible. Tenzing never called me and I would call in and give him an update occasionally. He said, “You just concentrate on getting here.”

It was around 10:00 p.m. at night on March 14, and I had taken the final turn on the GPS to arrive to my destination 100 yards ahead on the left, according to my electronic voice adviser. All of a sudden I came across a down tree that had fallen across the road, and I’ll be damn I could see the lights to the house flickering through the trees on the long dirt road, but I couldn’t even park the car and walk over the tree because it also downed a live power line.

Luckily, I was on a loop road, but I was so tired I went the wrong way for another half hour of time, but finally shut off the GPS, kept Tenzing on the phone and found my way to his home. I pull up and he is waiting outside with the phone to his ear in front of the smallest home I have ever seen. I shrugged it off as he gave me a peck on the lips. A quick nervous kiss.

I look at him and say, “I am so tired.” It didn’t really matter though. He had really good bottled micro beers from the local breweries, shrimp Alfredo pasta dish for dinner, a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon red wine and an outside hot tube ready to go. I was so buzzed by then and exhausted I remembered talking about matters of importance, but not really. It was just a fun night.

The home turned out not to be too small after all. We have an upstairs that is a single room of approximately 250 feet, but every morning I wake up and look out the window I see this view all day long.

Our desk is right in front of this window, and we sit side by side, often bumping into each other with our elbows or lips. If one of us needs to get in the refrigerator though, I have to move back.

We have a conference room to the left of our desk. It’s actually the Murphy bed that comes down out of the wall.

It was only the 4th night, St. Patrick’s Day and I had fallen out of the hot tub while cleaning it. I fell 17 feet.

I did a belly flop and I survived. That was when I realized …. I was meant to be here.

And Tenzing was right….It was fate.

I forgot to mention …. we have a whole other floor of approximately 250 feet downstairs and it even has a bathroom!

One of our motto’s is when we take stock of what we have we always say,

“We have more than enough.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

