Skip to content

The Starving Artist Tour

August 5, 2010

It was a reply to one of the many semi-random forgotten emails had sent weeks or months ago.  Someone at Elephant Bird camp at Burning Man 2010, said they had saved a slot for my band to play.  I was pretty surprised.  I had already dismissed the idea of performing at the festival months ago.  On a whim, i sent out a few more semi-random, quick-to-forget emails, and was surprised yet again.  The entertainment director for Center Camp at Burning Man 2010 replied right away, and offered the band more performance slots.  I had to read the email twice because I couldn’t believe how overwhelmingly positive the response was.  They went on to say they were ‘honored’ to have us perform, and loved the music, and would even make some special concessions for us.

Practicing in Key West

“Wow, I thought… I’ve been wanting to play at Burning Man for years, and I finally have a band, and a full length studio record.”  then I thought, “I can’t do it.  I only have three weeks to raise the money.”   It was a mixed feeling of elation and frustration.  I felt like a kid in a crowd at his favorite rock show, and the singer says, “You! get on the stage!”  only to realize he was pointing at the kid standing right behind me.  I thought that it was a nice offer, but  I couldn’t do it with such little notice.  I told myself forget it, and went to bed bummed.

The next morning I got a call from my drummer, who I’d forwarded the encouraging email to.  I explained that even though we would be playing all the shows for free, we still had to buy each member an admission ticket at full price. Quick math put that amount at over 1,000 dollars.  Then I added that there is no money used at Burning Man, which meant we couldn’t sell any CD’s, or even put out a tip bucket.  “So how are we going to afford to get in, much less get there or get back?”

I love my drummer. He has an ability to stay positive when I’ve gotten lost in the details. “Let’s do it.” he says.  “We’ll find a way.”  then I thought about some of the other things I’d pulled of with barely a nickle… like the time I landed in New York City for a month, and I only had 15 bucks to live on.  I performed on the street, and only got mugged once. Somehow I managed to get through it, and it was a great experience. He raised my spirits and optimism, and we decided to pool our resources and start working on a plan.

Unplugged in Colorado

Our new CD is 15 tracks, all original, and is a unique blending of so many styles that we just call it what it make’s you feel, instead of listing all the genres.

Our style is: “Mellow Sexy Good”

So, as soon as I finish writing this, I’m going to hit the Seattle streets with our full length studio record and offer free copies to anyone who will make a donation.  I’m hoping that a few people out there will read this, have a listen to the record, (the entire album streams for free on our website 24/7 )  and then maybe make a donation to help support the band on our journey.  We always seem to pull it off one way or another, but every bit helps.  I must also thank all the wonderful people who have already helped us in our past adventures. Without you, we couldn’t keep going, and we wouldn’t have been able to bring our music so freely to this world.

Our music is always free. It’s free to own, free of censorship, free of sponsorship, and free of corporate influence.  It is a gift from us, to you. Please help us keep it coming.  Thank you, and enjoy.

Donate

Come say hello!! RockSolomon.com and  Facebook and YouTube 🙂
5 Comments leave one →
  1. daniel dufour permalink
    July 7, 2011 9:26 pm

    about starving artist
    me want to send you this
    me would title it : some walk alone

    http://www.wimp.com/greatchallenges/

  2. daniel dufour permalink
    July 15, 2011 3:53 pm

    English translation to Nella Fantasia (the Italian song that Sung Bong-Choi sings):

    In my imagination I see a fair world,
    Everyone lives in peace and in honesty there.
    I dream of souls that are always free,
    Like the clouds that fly,
    Full of humanity in the depths of the soul.

    In my imagination I see a bright world,
    Even the night is less dark there.
    I dream of souls that are always free,
    Like clouds that fly.

    In my imagination there exists a warm wind,
    That breathes on the cities, like a friend.
    I dream of souls that are always free,
    Like clouds that fly,
    Full of humanity in the depths of the soul.

  3. daniel dufour permalink
    September 24, 2011 5:30 pm

    well, me do not know where to put this one
    in livingdocuments, so, here a must see:

    Stacy Westfall-horse whisperer

    two others link about Stacy Westfall:

  4. daniel dufour permalink
    September 25, 2011 6:26 am

    Jesus kind of love:

    You cannot understand how much your Father loves you, for there is no parallel in
    your experience of the world to help you understand it. There is nothing on earth
    with which it can compare, and nothing you have ever felt, apart from Him, that
    resembles it every so faintly. You cannot even give a blessing in perfect
    gentleness. Would you know of One Who gives forever, and Who knows of
    nothing EXCEPT giving?
    (from: Jesus’ Course In Miracles)

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The Starving Artist Tour « Living Documents -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

