Skip to content

It’s 2:30 a.m. – Time to check on Iran’s morning

February 25, 2010

I have always been a night owl, but it sure comes in handy covering Iran. I literally got up from my nap, and saw the Tweets working away, and I always get so excited to see what information they are compiling and communicating.

I just received a message from a friend from High School. I think what she had to write fits in a funny way, in a way that maybe we needed to hear today. I received a friend request that asked if I remember her. I accept her and write back, if you are so and so then yes I do. She responds:

Heather. Yes. Grapeview. The swim team. Remember when I was so frustrated as a freshman and you told me that coach Martin and the swim team made you cry too when you first joined…and it would get better? Jen Shipley

Working on the Green Movement is like that. I wanted to share that with everyone, and while I was Facebooking my intentions – she writes me this!

Re: When we were kids…

Yes I did and you were right, it did get better, but part of that was Clausen wasn’t…mmm…well he was drill sergeant like, but he was much easier to deal with than Martin, I guess because he didn’t loathe us.  And the other part was improving my stroke so I didn’t sink like a brick, which is what you told me.  I was ready to give up and quit, but after your pep talk I held out and it was kind of a defining moment in my life.  Apparently according to my cousin I’m still up on the record board, and I did all of that with a heart defect.

Since then I’ve always held out through the worst and things do get better.  I’ve been known for the never give up determination and your words and seeing that you were right really inspired me, and I’ve just never given up since.  When I really set my mind to something, NOTHING can stop me.

I’ve thought of that pep talk quite a number of times in my life.  That’s great you remember it too.  You really impacted me and I’ve always wanted to tell you that.  I’ve looked you up a number of times too in the last 19 years.  Then I joined Facebook and there you are.  I would love it if you put that on your blog.  Is it linked on your page?  I’d love to read it.  Jen Shipley

I talked to Jen tonight and told her, “You couldn’t have found me at a better time.” I offered her the possibility of helping us with #SOG. She will be reviewing the blog and let me know. I think that story she shared could have been told to me at any given point in my life in the 19 years and never resonated as passionately as it does with the Green Movement now. That conversation happened 22 years ago, and the lesson echoed back to today to give me the same talk, and to share with you in Iran, because as you know, I’ve been reading and blogging about what you are going through and I am honored to know such human kindness and bravery. You are transforming your life – even though you have been walking through the fire to do it.

I now look at this post as our morning pep talk – I’ll be right behind you.

3:00 a.m. is when I like to check in for work (I was speaking with Jen for the first time since high school) so I’m a little behind schedule today. Everyone is up in Iran, had their breakfast and morning is now already over. They have already started and I feel a buzz in the air. Let’s see what’s going on!

A Side Note

So my long lost friend Heather sent me her phone number and told me to call her and this is what I would have said, had I been less clever:

“OK, but I can only call you if your number does not have a seven in it…because I can’t dial any number that has a seven in it.”

So now you are thinking, “Ok? Is this some kind of Jen-style OCD? Like in her reality seven is the ANTI-lucky number?”

No. Rest assured I do like the number seven. It’s just that my phone won’t dial the number seven because I cried on the number seven button. Seven drown in my tears and it is not my lucky number anymore.

Then I realized that I was reading her telephone number and it did not have a seven in it, and I did not need to assault her with such a bizarre statement. So I managed to call her, AND I programmed her number into my phone. However, I was not able to type her whole name, because apparently P, Q, R and S are not my lucky letters. So according to my phone, her name is Heathedalbeg. Oh yah. Spaces are not lucky either.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer Shipley permalink
    February 26, 2010 2:50 am

    Too funny. Are you stalking me through facebook? lol
    Thanks for the encouragement, Heather. Looking forward to seeing what we can do together.
    My mom says, “HI.”

  2. February 26, 2010 4:05 am

    I love your writing. I think you would be great if you wrote here. I think anyone who reads this blog is already use to my zany side, and there’s something about the way you write that just fits in. Tell mom hi.

Leave a Reply

