Skip to content

Unmessablewithness

February 23, 2010

The Landmark Advance Course Leader Jocelyn told us about a word she put into the Urban Dictionary “Unmessablewithness”. Anyone who was anyone wanted this in their vocabulary.

Unmessable
The quality of being able to stand in the face of any circumstance and not be thrown off course. Being “unmessable with” : someone who can generate possibility with anyone at anytime under any circumstance. “unmessable with-ness” : the quality of being unstoppable in the face of no agreement, able to turn lemons into lemonade.
Jane greeted every obstacle as an opportunity, she was truly unmessable with.
unmessable with unmessable with-ness unmessible unmess-able unmessablewith unmessiblewith
I have been completely messable with until this course. I wasn’t going to share anything about what I created over the weekend with anyone but my team and Jocelyn. Until Jocelyn told me … “You have to share that tonight.” This is the night where friends and family come, so a group that is 132 people plus staff turns into a group of 300 – 500 people. The amount of people doesn’t bother me, but it’s what I had to say that did. Well, I never turn down a person I respect so I said, “OK”. The time came to raise our hands on who wanted to share and I raised my hand but told my friends who were there, “I don’t want to share.” Jocelyn called everyone to the stage and didn’t pick me. I said, “Hey, I don’t have to go!” Then all of a sudden she said, “Where is the person I requested to come up and speak….” and there I go…last in line.
It’s my turn and I walk up the microphone. I’m not nervous, but I want to be succinct and clear for the people who have not been through the course to obtain some value of what it is all about, because you really can’t explain what it is about until you experience it. Everyone that was attending this course is now my responsibility, and they brought people that they wanted to share this experience with too. Therefore, I can’t mess around here, it is my responsibility to represent the group…..because it isn’t about me.
So I begin to speak. I remembered most of the important things, I forgot something that was really funny to share, but I remembered the key points I could provide as an example of the work accomplished by us as a group. I forgot to acknowledge those who assisted me or who came to support me.  I didn’t speak too long and it wasn’t an academy award speech.  Just the facts Mame, just the facts.
As I am walking away I hear Jocelyn say to the audience and I turn around to see her writing on the white board, “That’s what I call unmessablewithness!”
I worked on that possibility! I couldn’t believe I achieved another breakthrough. Again! I’m back! I’m really back!
I later approached Karen to discuss some enrollment issues of a friend of mine. She said, “Heather Dalberg” and gave me a big hug. She said, “You even look different.” I told her what I was working on for a friend of mine to register for the Landmark Forum and for the Advance Course. That I had found her a sponsor. I reminded her that someone sponsored me and that’s why I was able to go. She said, “I remember. Heather, I want you to assist me.” I said, “Absolutely!” She said, “Good, I will call you tomorrow and we will go over the details.” I said, “Thank you so much!”
This is the possibility I didn’t tell anyone. As I sat through the Advance Course and watched Jocelyn I said, “I want that, I want that life, I don’t want to be her, I want to be me, but I want that knowledge, that ability to explain where I had come from and where I was, and support others in their pursuit of transformation. One day, I want to be leading this course.”
No one ever heard me say that out loud, but somehow Karen did.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Irit permalink
    February 25, 2010 8:38 am

    Heather, thank you for the conversation you had with my friend Tuesday night. It helped. Stay unmessablewith and always know that I am your friend. Irit

    • February 25, 2010 12:35 pm

      Someone from the course wants to support you. Please e mail me ASAP, so I can pass on the information! Thank you for your support. livingdocuments@usa.com

Leave a Reply

