Skip to content

The Story of Saint Valentine

February 15, 2010

After a significant event, such as Bahman 22 in Iran, I feel exhausted but completely fulfilled that I spent the time to blog live about the opposition movement in Iran, regime, sacrifices and struggles made by the Sea of Green (students, women, and brave citizens) for human rights and democracy. I have a hard time transitioning back to other topics because I want to give the work everyone completed reverence. I want to honor the time, sacrifice and movement of the people. Therefore, I find my other posts of random observations in life seem to be so shallow in comparison.

Celebrating 22 Bahman

I could blog about Iran every single day and sometimes I do, but I don’t want to discuss it just to be discussing it. My posts are to gather information and compile it into one place so the Tweets can be effective in their work. I find comments that are mentioned on various blogs, social networking sites and communication tools that may go unnoticed. I am always reviewing new sites, blog articles, and information coming in that maybe you wouldn’t get from your normal news sources. I actually consider this to be my job because working on behalf of #SOG and #Iranelection is a call of duty. The rest of what I write is my way of processing the experiences in my life while I am engaged in a personal movement of my own human rights: life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.

My last transitional post was unfortunately due to a phone call I received that my good friend Ronnie had passed away unexpectedly. This was literally the only way I knew how to say goodbye and felt I had to write to him, for him, for me, for my sorrow and loss of a dear friend. Then came the next problem: how do I write a post after my goodbye letter to Ronald Philip Sr.? How do I choose a topic to write about – and did I give the time to honor and reflect on his life? I have contemplated the lessons I have learned in our short time together here on Earth as friends, and I know what he would say….“now don’t be getting it all twisted….you just keep writing baby girl.”

So this is my transition post, and it’s based off of a story I heard on Valentines Day while I was watching the news, and it went something like this:

In Rome, the King realized his army wasn’t big enough and the reason was the men in the Kingdom didn’t want to join the army because of their higher desire to marry a woman and have a family. The King put an end to this by outlawing the right to be married so he could build his mighty army. Saint Valentine though defied the King’s law and would wed couples in secret. The King found out and put him into a prison in which Saint Valentine met his beloved, the King’s daughter. The day Saint Valentine was taken to meet his fate of be-heading, the King’s daughter found a note left for her which read … “From Your Valentine“.

OPHELIA

Pray you, let’s have no words of this; but when they
ask you what it means, say you this:
Sings

To-morrow is Saint Valentine’s day,
All in the morning betime,
And I a maid at your window,
To be your Valentine.
Then up he rose, and donn’d his clothes,
And dupp’d the chamber-door;
Let in the maid, that out a maid
Never departed more.
William Shakespeare , Hamlet, Act IV, Scene 5
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

