Skip to content

Rest In Peace My Friend – Ronald Philip Sr.

February 13, 2010

Ronnie told me after I hired him – when he had been fired from the factory…. “heather, I am never going back to the factory,” and I said…. “no Ronnie…you are not.” Unfortunately, I didn’t know it meant this. Ronnie rose to become a manager of his own job above following me around the country moving documents….and I am and will always be so proud of who he is. His daughter is getting married soon….and as Ronnie would say, “Don’t get it twisted, girl.”

Ronnie –

I didn’t even get to see you and say goodbye. I thought you were working at the hospital, I didn’t know you were sick. I was so proud of you – for as far as you had come – and as well as you have done for yourself, and I will always cherish the time we spent together. I’m so sorry to your family. I’ll find the footage of when we visited them in St. Louis and get it to them. I’ll wait to see you in my dreams. I don’t know what else to do – I don’t know how else to say goodbye.

Much love,

Heather

To those of you who don’t know Ronnie, this is a Youtube channel I made of him when we worked together.

I had two books we were working on – when I find them I’ll put up what we had completed. I just want to scream … NOOOOOOOOOO! Not you!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2010 1:47 pm

    Ronnie seemed like a very thoughtful and intelligent guy. I am sorry to hear of his passing. I am sharing this experience with you in that my husband and I recently produced a documentary called “The Invisible Ones: Homeless Combat Veterans” (http://www.theinvisibleones.org) and one of the people whom we met while videotaping interviews, John Smith, a decorated war veteran, recently passed. And still young, like Ronnie. These Vietnam vets are slipping away almost as fast – and at the same time – as the WW2 guys. It’s like our history is seeping away before we can get a grasp on it. Kudos to you for engaging with him and I’m sure it was a very mutually rewarding friendship.

    • February 16, 2010 1:58 pm

      Patty,

      Thank you so much for taking the time to learn about Ronnie and his life, he was an amazing human being and someone who will be greatly missed by all who knew him. I just checked your website and will be writing a post about your documentary. I appreciate people who honor our soldiers and I am very impressed with the commitment I know it took for you and your husband to create this. That is a disturbing commentary that our Vietnam Vets are passing away almost as quickly as the World War II vets. I have always made a personal commitment to spend time with World War II vets when I have had the privilege of meeting one. They normally cannot discuss what they saw from the pain of experience and not being as “open to communication” in that generation, but I always just wanted to be there, just so they knew someone noticed them and cared about them and honored their service.

      Thank you for all you do,

      Heather

Trackbacks

  1. The Invisible Ones « Living Documents
  2. I woke up with a request to fill…. « Living Documents

Leave a Reply

