Skip to content

Guess Who I Met On Christmas!

December 25, 2009

Since I have returned to the east coast, I decided to stop at my favorite Lebanese market to say hi to the owner. We were chit chatting about how and where I’ve been. I told him I no longer have the same job, but I am enjoying working for the Sea of Green. I was showing him some pictures on my cell phone.

As I walked out of the store he said, “Merry Christmas” and I said, “Happy Festive Holiday!”

The man who was in line listening to our conversation followed me out and said after he heard my holiday wishes, “That’s what it’s all about.”

I am not sure how the conversation moved to me but he asked, “What is your destiny?” I said, “I’m not really sure, I guess it’s to do my work and stay alive.” He said, “There are no coincidences.”

He proceeds to tell me he is running for President in the country of Senegal. He would like me to look up his website, listen to his radio show, and discuss helping him win his election.

OK…..how weird is my life! It’s Christmas for goodness sake, and I was only running to the store for some things so I could make a pie and say hi to an old friend!

Here’s his website: Nadems

I have some studying to do on the issues of the country and his platform of course! I can’t just start working for someone’s campaign because I meet him on the street randomly.

His name is Samba Kara Ndiaye and his radio station can be heard on Samba Kara Ndiaye Radio Broadcast

It looks like I will be using Google for some translation to study this.

I’ll have  meeting with him and conduct an interview and let you know what I think. Of course, he appears to be my neighbor. That’s about all I can say about him right now, except that he is very polite and tall. This is the information on his country: Senegal

When I returned home and had my company over, I didn’t even bother to tell every one what happened. I mean, come on….truth is stranger than fiction. Sooner or later, every one is going to just write me off as being crazy. This reminds me of the post I wrote a long time ago when someone asked me what my blog was about…..I have a really dry sense of humor but I still think this says it all: What Is This Blog About?

Comments are closed.

