Skip to content

First Document on Human Rights!

December 9, 2009

I was on Friend Feed and I saw M Shadows doing some excellent work bringing a variety of history to her posts. I was inspired ot learn more about this. This is what I read (link to article on picture above). I will continue to update this as I learn more.

INFO :
On October 29th 539 BCE, Cyrus the Great liberated the city of Babylon, freed the Jews from Babylon and issued the world’s first charter of human rights. Cyrus ruled with policies of religious tolerance and he did not enslave the people of kingdoms he conquered.

THERE WERE NO SLAVES IN THE PERSIAN EMPIRE.

The Achaemenid dynasty that he belonged to was destroyed by the Macedonian King Alexander the Great and it would not be untill the 20th century that equal rights for all was realised once again.

This is an image I took of the Cyrus cylinder in the British Musuem. It was found in Babylon. It is the oldest recorded charter of human rights as declared by Cyrus the Great when he captured Babylon.

Comments are closed.

