Skip to content

Happy Thanksgiving

November 26, 2009

This post should probably be on the page Gratitude Saturday, but to begin the day I will think of things I am thankful for.

1. My family is together for the holiday. There is some that could not come but we will call and hopefully get a chance to speak with everyone.

2. I am really fortunate to be able to say I am at my grandparents house. Most people I know do not have their grandparents alive and mine are not only alive but cooking and entertaining 13 of us for dinner. They are doing great and maybe even better than some of us.

3. I spoke with my friend who can’t wait for me to come live with her, but was glad I visited my family first since we live in so many different parts of the country. Since she is a Judge, she likes to break down all the reasons I did the right thing: you don’t see them all the time, they are getting older, everyone is happy to have you there for them. I am so excited that every time I speak with her she can’t wait for me to live with her and she misses me. I am so thankful I have friends like that. I have many friends like that so that rocks.

4. I am not sick like I was yesterday. I still can’t figure out what that was, but after everyone gave me something to ease the pain….in the end it was the after dinner drink that seemed to do the trick. I laughed and said I should have had the afternoon drink with you guys!

5. I have hope and dreams. I picture a world where other countries can celebrate their own form of Thanksgiving. I may be naive or blissfully ignorant, but I think I will see the day come where Human Rights are top priority in the world and extremism educated into oblivion.

6. I am very happy that I started this blog recently and that I have met so many wonderful people because of it. I have found a group of people that care about Human Rights and others more than I do! I find strength and duty when I see the work they are accomplishing daily and it pushes me to do what I can to keep up!

7. I am thankful for the hard times I have gone through. It’s not often in life where you have an opportunity to be put to the test to find out what kind of person you are or how you will act under pressure. I made mistakes, but I also realized what those mistakes were. I learned things about others and about myself. As much as the year 2009 was the most difficult year I have ever experienced in my life, it also gave me the most insight into myself and others.

8. The Tweet Distinction is inviting me to Google Wave! I’m so excited….I’m such a geek.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

