Skip to content

Should I Paint The Sand Yellow Again?

October 27, 2009

Cut to shot of people nailing and sticking white foam rubber over things. It looks terrible. Others are painting the sand with white paint……..Exercises in Futility…

1.  Imposing religious beliefs upon others: Convincing people that Jesus/Muhammad/Alla/Buddha is real is exactly like walking around and telling people aliens are real and expecting them to believe you.

Solution: Provide a living example in your actions not words.

Example: When I attended college at Evergreen, I was devoutly Christian. I remember finding out that “at least” I showed up and drank Dr. Pepper and didn’t have sex with people during the party’s.

2. Imposing political ideology upon others.

Solution: Volunteer gathering signatures to change ballot measures on issues important in your life.

Example: Last year some friends and I met up in Los Angeles’s Day of the Dead where hundreds of people were in line. Our liberal activist Gregory Wright spent his time working on Proposition 2 . Gregory opposed the cruel and unusual treatment of animals in our food supply chain. He had his bag of pamphlets and talked to each person in line offering them the information and if they were interested they could sign his petition. That proposition passed and his sacrifice was noted by me, who didn’t agree with him, but didn’t mind when it passed either.

3. “INSANITY IS DOING THE SAME THING OVER AND OVER AND EXPECTING DIFFERENT RESULTS …” This applies to almost every one: Work – Friends – Family.

Solution: With family – Keep your expectations low. With work – find other people to work for. With friends – decide how much time they are worth out of your life, if any.

Example: Me

CREDIT TIME

I was either filling in for the court clerk or I was doing my usual data entry on the proceedings during the Pre-Indictment Program. The court room moves quickly and the public defender with long hair known as Brian Plunkett, Esq. was arguing relentlessly on behalf of his client. I was always impressed with his brain. With no dis-respect he said, “Your honor, should we paint the sand yellow again?”

My father watched Monty Python on PBS when I was growing up and I really considered it to be a high brow corny style that wasn’t particularly my taste. I just didn’t get into it. I asked Brian where did he get that line, and what does it mean? Now I’m thinking, I just never understood Monty Python.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2009 4:51 am

    This came from an e-mail response through a very cool friend of mine at the court who made sure Brian saw this post:

    If Scott of Antartica goes to the Sahara to fight the lion you will have no other alternative. In either case please do not forget the trenches.
    Hope all is well with you.
    Say hey to heather from me.
    brian

  2. November 27, 2009 4:55 am

    I also received this from Greg Wright who I mentioned in the post on an e-mail. I am not going to defend myself here. Basically, my position comes down to economics…period.

    Hello Your Heatherness: It’s nice to be wrote!

    I really like the name “Her Heatherness”! I think you should comprehensively ‘brand’ yourself under this name, and use it simultaneously as the title of your blog, your LinkedIn handle, etcetera.

    Suggestion re your LinkedIn resume: Spell out all the years, not just the 19– years, but the 20– years too.
    Also, I note that “multi-media artist” under Dragon Heart in your LinkedIn Summary is singular (but there were more than one, yes?).
    Also: In the blog “Alla” should be “Allah”!

    Question: How could you disagree with getting pigs and chickens out of tiny, cramped, awful cages and general mistreatment?
    2. Imposing political ideology upon others.

    Solution: Volunteer gathering signatures to change ballot measures on issues important in your life.

    Example: Last year some friends and I met up in Los Angeles’s Day of the Dead where hundreds of people were in line. Our liberal activist Gregory Wright spent his time working on Proposition 2 . Gregory opposed the cruel and unusual treatment of animals in our food supply chain. He had his bag of pamphlets and talked to each person in line offering them the information and if they were interested they could sign his petition. That proposition passed and his sacrifice was noted by me, who didn’t agree with him, but didn’t mind when it passed either.

    More soon! Gotta fly to a meeting of The Transit Coalition at Philippe’s restaurant (“Home of the French-Dipped Sandwich”) (if only I had enough left of my MM money for one!) (I’m a vegetarian at home — only eat dead animals when I’m out).

    Will miss you at the Day of the Dead (if I can afford to get in).
    But not at Living Docs! G’o.

Trackbacks

  1. Twitter Trackbacks for Should I Paint The Sand Yellow Again? « Living Documents [livingdocuments.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com
  2. uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

