Skip to content

The Road Less Traveled

October 22, 2009

Every day I take this road on-line I find I meet people in places I normally would not. Today I spent an interesting exchange in e-mails with someone. I wasn’t sure what this person wanted, and I wasn’t sure what I wanted either. Until the end of the electronic conversation, when I learn the thoughts that were turning inside.

The questions I think I needed to answer to help was 1) What is my purpose 2) Who do I answer to 3) What is my mission 4) Explain my approach

This is how I left off the conversation:

I am excited to hear you are working on something and that is why you reached out! I can only tell you this: if what you are doing is truly for others, with no intent other than the goodwill you are choosing as your internal guide, then you can’t miss. The journey will unfold before your eyes. I never know which direction I am going when I get up. It is a random thing, I can’t explain, but the words come quickly (that’s why I built so much content so fast). I don’t second guess myself (anymore) I just put it up, and later something else transpires that reveals the meaning of the decision to me. People you would never have known join you and encourage you, and you find your thoughts are not your own, but a collective conscious of people waiting for you to say them, and they join you and keep your spirits lifted. I’m not saying that I haven’t been disappointed. When Benhoud was killed by the victim’s mother in the streets, by her kicking the stool out from underneath him while he pleaded for his 17 year old life, I realized I wasn’t going to win the battles, and every day I will hear of more children being executed. There were 3 more slated last night. It doesn’t mean than it won’t end. It just means that I must continue….and one day, the tide will turn and the murders will end, because the society will demand it, especially the youth. When America fought in the Civil War, it took the North 50 years to replenish the minds that were lost in the battles with the South. It takes about 30 years to change dramatic loss and right past misdeeds. So as I look at the students in Iran protesting, I know they are the future and by the time they are 50 years old, with our support, they will have changed Iran to the government of their choosing.

In fact, I think that this dialogue with you will become part of my next post. I will leave your name anonymous, as I do every one.

And that is how I decide what to write …..

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bantrybay permalink
    October 23, 2009 8:00 pm

    You never cease to amaze me. Thanks for your insights!

    • October 24, 2009 12:45 am

      Good thing I have 9 lives ; )

Trackbacks

  1. Twitter Trackbacks for The Road Less Traveled « Living Documents [livingdocuments.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

