Skip to content

Geneva Conventions & Ronald Reagan-huh?

October 20, 2009

Always Relevant

I never know which direction I am going when I get up in the middle of the night to help the situation around the world with Human Rights. I just know that news is breaking fast. How am I going to decide what to focus on?  How will I give you the most information in the least amount of time? How do I choose which crisis to focus on when every thing could be considered equal? This time I saw someone googled my name with the word Geneva. I’m going with this. I think it is interesting and something we should consider, “How does my nation apply the Geneva Convention?”

I realize while I am explaining this to you, that I am not clear on our current policy. I know we follow the Geneva Convention. I know President George Bush #43 labeled terrorists as enemy combatants and Gitmo built to house the suspected terrorists. I know President Obama promised to close Guantanamo Bay Naval Base, but I believe he has realized there is no state interested in taking them into their prison. I know President Obama has maintained most of President Bush’s infrastructure through Homeland Security. I am personally happy about those decisions.

In America, we watch in horror when human beings labeled civilians or soldiers, beheaded in the name of Jihad, and video dispersed on line of the brutal death. The terrorists do not follow the Geneva Convention. I have heard the argument that terrorists are not afforded the rights of the Geneva Convention because they do not wear a soldier’s uniform of identification. I need to request information here, because I clearly can not formulate an opinion on opinions and lack so much clarity on this subject.

I will provide information and be interested to see what I learn from you. I’m thinking what it would be like if President Ronald Reagan was in office right now, and we changed the subject to Supreme Leader in this speech. I think that core principles are timeless and applicable to any situation. What do you think? Pretend he is speaking to your situation, because there are many types of walls we run into.

The Fourth Geneva Convention (Full Text)

Cultural Dictionary
Geneva Conventions

A set of international rules that govern the treatment of prisoners, the sick and wounded, and civilians during war. Under the Geneva Conventions, for example, ambulances and military hospitals and their staff are officially neutral and are not to be fired upon. Nearly all countries of the world have agreed to the Geneva Conventions.

Note: The first Geneva Convention was drawn up in the late nineteenth century and concerned only the sick and wounded in war. It has been revised several times since to accommodate new wartime conditions.
The American Heritage® New Dictionary of Cultural Literacy, Third Edition
Copyright © 2005 by Houghton Mifflin Company.
Published by Houghton Mifflin Company. All rights reserved.

OTHER RESOURCES

Convention relative to the Treatment of Prisoners of War. Geneva, 27 July 1929

Geneva Conventions

The United Nations Office at Geneva

Leave a Reply

