Skip to content

Sky Is Over – Civilization

October 3, 2009

Always a Show Me the Man

Always a Show Me the Man


I had so much fun on Friday, and I must admit I am about ready for bed, but instead of watching a whole concert tonight, I thought I would share with you a couple cool videos of the same song.
Preparing for Video from Elect The Dead

Preparing for Video from Elect The Dead

Most of you are wayyyyyy hipper than I am. I am such a geek that I thought that Chop Suey song came out last summer when I arrived to LA and heard it on KROC, apparently the release was in the beginning of this decade….eye yi yi. In fact, I read that the song was taken off the radio on 9/11, because people were afraid that since the band was all Armenian, that the lyrics could have been misconstrued to be in support of the terrorists, and yet, everyone still says it was a set-up. We really are a confused country.
_IMG_3423
I discovered this after my break from work and I really loved it, but I didn’t know that this person was Serj and he was with SOAD (System of a Down) and I didn’t know that the music was about being politically active and work towards clean water, and so forth. In fact, I went on the board and was so excited about the album, I couldn’t figure out why nobody was discussing the deep and layered meanings to the songs, until a few weeks went by and I found out, OH, it was released 2 years ago……they are talking about the next project…..and boy, did I feel ….. old? No not old, just really really boring….out of touch, and must have spent way too many hours in my life working ….. with absolutely no balance – but then again, I was never with the trends, I was always by myself, in one way or another.

Civilization Is Over

Civilization Is Over


So without further adue? So I can go to bed soon…..Here is my favorite video of the song, and it is the official video. I really love the graphics, I love the editing, I love the piano, I even love the singing. The middle eastern sound of dragging out the words, and the attitude of Serj just works for me. Some people think it sounds depressing, and maybe that’s what he wants….I actually just find it cool. I don’t think the world is going to end, or anything like that….I think it is a really thought provoking video…..that’s all.

Deluxe Website Pictures

Deluxe Website Pictures

When I tripped the night fantastic onto the www.serjtankian.com website, I was stunned. It isn’t like those websites where you are catalogued and explained every last position in your detailed life. I had someone send me a website of the Tea Parties, I guess my website generates a “right wing radical conservative republican” feel to it. That has generated quite a bit of controversy and I don’t understand why we can not all discuss topics without being labeled, or argued on our points instead of on our appearances. I think reading the content is a good place to begin before engaging in canned opinions. I wrote back, um…..I hope you are not disappointed, but I’ve never seen this website, and I am not interested in it. I support the Tea Parties and people standing up for the laws of our country, but when I want to relax, I like websites that make me think, and that make me think there is something hidden behind every computer screen. Oh my gosh, I literally spent a couple weeks just on the front page (I mean each day I check on it, not fixated). First, it has to load, and he is looking at you with this graffiti behind him, and smoking…a spirit rebellious. I kept wanting to play my computers narrator because I was sure something was there, but I did, and I don’t think there was. Now the front page, holy cow….it is all in flash, and it took me weeks to see how if I clicked on different things I could see different parts of the picture that were not privies to at first glance. I literally spent two weeks on this. It took me that long just to click to go inside. I also found out to get to the private room, I needed a code. So I had to figure out where to buy the CD “Elect the Dead”. I couldn’t just buy it anywhere, because then I wouldn’t get the code. I found it of course on his site and I purchased it, but it took forever to get to me. Once I received it though, I was really happy with how good the packaging was. I felt like I received value for what I paid for the code and CD’s. Plus you are getting a glimps of some of the pictures on that site.

Down to Earth

Down to Earth


What’s the point of all that? Well I am 100% sure that the person who did the art work for his front page, is the same person that he put in the alternative video for “Sky Is Over”. That’s for you to decide, I already made up my mind, and I doubt you will spend 2 weeks on the front page of any website! I haven’t been out for awhile.

Sense of Humor

Sense of Humor

Sky Is Over

Everybody knows,
Everybody knows,
That you cradle the sun, sun
Living in remorse,
Sky is over,

Don’t you want to hold me baby,
Disappointed, going crazy,

Even though we can’t afford
The sky is over,
Even though we can’t afford
The sky is over,
I don’t want to see you go,
The sky is over
Even though we can’t afford
The sky is over,

Behind closed eyes lie
The minds ready to awaken you,
Are you at war with land
And all of its creatures,
Your not-so-gentle persuasion
Has been known to wreck economies
Of countries, of empires, the sky is over,

Don’t you want to hold me baby,
Disappointed, going crazy,

Not even for the sun,
Not even for the sun,
Not even for the sun,
Don’t you want me to run,

Even though we can’t afford
The sky is over,
Even though we can’t afford
The sky is over,
I don’t want to see you go,
The sky is over
Even though we can’t afford
The sky is over,
I don’t want to see you go,
The sky is over
Even though we can’t afford
The sky is over,
I don’t want to see you go,
The sky is over
Even though we can’t afford
The sky is over,
The sky is over us.

Serj Supports:
http://www.anca.org/
http://www.axisofjustice.org/
http://www.badacidtrip.com/
http://www.ftmband.com/
http://www.streetwise.com/Home
http://www.systemofadown.com/
http://www.sakoshahinian.com/
http://www.pomegran8.com/
http://www.serjicalstrike.com/site/

3 Comments leave one →
  1. özge permalink
    February 9, 2010 4:38 am

    Hello! It’s so nice to see that a person discovered Serj Tankian too. It doesn’t matter following him day-to-day or being late to find him. ıt all gives the same result: We adore Serj Tankian. LOL! I haven’t been on the forum for a while but if you are a newbie I can welcome you, what’s your nick?
    Anyway keep on writing and listening Serj Tankian.
    Peace and Love!

  2. February 9, 2010 4:53 am

    Send me an e mail to livingdocuments@usa.com and I’ll tell you what my nick is on the forum (but I have a feeling you already figured it out). I like your name meaning! Very cool.

  3. September 9, 2010 8:15 pm

    Fantastic site, I hadn’t come across livingdocuments.wordpress.com earlier during my searches!
    Continue the fantastic work!

Leave a Reply

