Skip to content

A Piece of a Collective Soul

October 2, 2009

Friday Night, and I need to do something, so I decide to see one of my favorite groups in concert: Collective Soul. One concert I caught a few years ago before I went on the road, on Direct TV’s featured concert of the month: Collective Soul in Concert with the Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra. I never watch concerts on TV. I was going to real concerts since I could sneak out of Grapeview, which was probably when I turned 16, because you can’t just sneak out of Grapeview. Seattle was 2 hours away, so you had to have a car or a really good friend to at least drive you to a ferry. That’s the joke, I am going to my favorite concert on YouTube. I’ll give myself a pass, because I have seen every concert from Paul Anka, Tom Jones, Bobby Blue, Pink Floyd, Depeche Mode, The Cure, Eurasure, A-Ha, The Cult, Billy Idol, Tears For Fears, Skinny Puppy, Oingo Boingo, RunRig, and on and on and on. I managed a couple musicians too, but I have yet to make it home to bring the DVD for their review to edit. I have it here, sitting on a desk, and I don’t know what to do with it yet, lets just say, we need to have a talk first.

So why Collective Soul? Without looking up the stats and every detail to explain my feelings when I listen to them, I’ll put it this way: They were discovered, which means they worked really hard, built a following, had a buzz on the street, and the record industry came to them because of that. Then they were signed (probably to a 5 year contract, not sure but that is standard) and many of their songs became hits, selling probably gold and platinum worldwide. They realized that they were only getting maybe 11 cents per CD sale (depending on how generous the contract was) after they payed back the Record Label who signed them for every single dime that was “loaned” to them to go on tour, package, produce, merchandise, all the way down to their food, drink and hotel bills. The record label now has added more material to their publishing catalogue, because after musicians are dead and gone, the catalogue grows….ohhhh……a living document.

So being intelligent as I assume they are from their songs simplicity and brilliance combination, their energy on the stage that is present even through a video on YouTube, raising my energy level to feel, well, better…..they said, “Let’s stop giving everything to the record label, and let’s create our own.” So they fulfilled the terms of their agreement, and didn’t re-sign. This is the part where it is difficult for groups because they usually get into fights over money, and that chaos is what holds them back from achieving real success. I’ll talk about that some other time. Obviously, the group has a mature and team mentality, because they have made it through the toughest transition. The record label owns the songs that they are well known for, but they still are able to play them, because hey, they get that 11 cents each time a CD sells. That must break down to a penny a song on the iPod downloads or something. I wonder if that is per person or split between each of them? Like I said, I am writing this based off of my observations, I am having fun speculating….it’s my Friday night. So I am providing a couple songs from the concert they performed with the Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra. These students are amazing, and I could tell this is probably going to be the best concert they ever perform in their lives, as just being a Peace of a “Collective Soul” – think about it – something that is so darn cool.

Enjoy the clips, found on www.youtube.com/nolimits67 and www.youtube.com/darksidemity posted in 2007.

Peace Collective Soul – Be Sure To Let Me Know Where I Can Purchase Your Latest Brilliance……never mind…….I can’t believe it, I was going to send you this post and you released an album. I am ordering and providing the information below.

http://www.collectivesoul.com/board_posts/collective-soul-3

http://www.collectivesoul.com/board_posts/collective-soul-3

"Welcome All Again""Fuzzy""Dig""You""My Days""Understanding""Staring Down""She Does""Lighten Up""Love""Hymn for My Father"

Welcome All Again Video

Rabbit

Rabbit

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2009 11:00 am

    Hey u i am happy to see you here. U have Nice Blog Thank for sharing Article with me
    Do you want buy ……..iPoD…….? If u want please join visit me >>> iPod for Sale

  2. October 3, 2009 12:22 pm

    OH, the free market, I guess I can’t blame you, I checked out your site and you are selling on Amazon. As long as you are an honest business person who charges a fair price for a good product, I won’t stop you exercising capitalism.

  3. February 1, 2010 4:51 pm

    I don’t usually reply to posts but I will in this case, great info…I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

    • February 1, 2010 5:33 pm

      Sweet…thanks for the input. I’d be happy to share your experiences you feel when you listen to Collective Soul. E mail me at livingdocuments@usa.com and I’d be happy to discuss!

  4. February 2, 2010 8:01 am

    Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking your feeds too now, Thanks.

    Robert Shumake Fifth Third

    • February 2, 2010 10:41 am

      Hi Robert,

      I really loved your idea of the book I found on this website: http://www.robertshumake.com/
      For Entrepreneurs Who Considered Suicide When Business Got Tough
      Robert S. Shumake

      When I get a chance to read it I would be interested in writing a post about that. Very interesting concept.

      Heather

  5. February 6, 2010 10:21 am

    Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Other Pieces of Collective Soul – Cover « Living Documents

Leave a Reply

