Skip to content

The IT Decision

October 1, 2009

According to my IT Professor advisor:

I will know if I am to go into the IT world or not based on the book The Cuckoo’s Egg. The theory is if I like it, then I have picked the right field for my passionate charge forward to advance my degree, and if I don’t like it, I have to re-examine how to apply my passion with a field that is right for me to pursue for the rest of my life.

This blog has been up a week today, Oct 1, 2009. I spoke with my other professor www.keigeejewelry.com  about this book last night. I told her I have kept it by my side, which isn’t difficult in a hotel room. It is next to my desk on my queen size bed, so I basically am sleeping with it and looking at it, not wanting to open the book, because emotionally I feel so strongly about my future endeavors that I am afraid I will find out I am blinded by passion!

I have finally ended the blogging fury, not that I don’t enjoy it, but I know it isn’t included in the steps I need to take to move forward. I would liken it to blogging during working hours hoping to become rich and famous only to be fired for wasting the company’s resources! I will continue to blog on my site, but the intention is different here. The intention is to document my journey towards my goal, and reinforcing my dedication. Plus, the thought that someone is reading it and wondering why I am not on track (hello Judge!) keeps me in line during a day of self-imposed structure. I need to make a board of daily required job duties, time alloted, and sign in and sign out everyday. Then I need to run my own pretend payroll, and make sure I am “working” at least 60 hours a week. That would be a huge decrease from the time I spent for another person’s business.

So what is the verdict? I don’t know yet, I was checking my daily bible passage e mail which seemed to be on time: 

Jesus Christ gave himself for us to redeem us from all wickedness and to purify for himself a people that are his very own, eager to do what is good.                  Titus 2:14

 

Well, I was avoiding the book again, honestly felt rather depressed today and not really motivated, and I just went with the emotions until they were gone. I returned to my computer, was working on figuring out HTML capabilities of linking code between Twitter and LinkedIn, and knew I was procrastinating again. Then it happened, I felt GUI. It’s hard to explain, and I’m not supposed to notice if someone is GUI. Let’s just say, I killed my last computer, and it took a little while for this one’s IP address to be easily located. I was yelling at the monitor, “No! No! No! Not again!” moving my mouse like I do to show I am not happy. The thought crossed my mind I could be paranoid, I could be just having a glitch, this all could be explained, but guess what, I can’t explain it. I am on a computer for the rest of my life, and I will always have this reaction to computer problems real or perceived.

I grabbed the book finally, and I opened it up flipping the pages feverously until I was sure I was on the very first page, and I started reading……and I flipped ahead to make sure I was right about what I was reading, and I went back and I kept reading, and I sighed with releif……whew……in fact, that was the first title for this post I planned at the exact moment I realized that IT is less productive when wearing a suit.

The verdict is in: I like the book!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

