Skip to content

Ockham’s Razor and Political Blogging

September 28, 2009

When tackling big ideas, I get lost in the possibilities, and ultimately could get side tract from the ultimate goal.

Instead of looking at events transpiring with the eye of a conspiracy theorist, I will be applying the law of parsimony.

As found in Dictionary.com

Ock·ham’s razor also Oc·cam’s razor
n.  A rule in science and philosophy stating that entities should not be multiplied needlessly. This rule is interpreted to mean that the simplest of two or more competing theories is preferable and that an explanation for unknown phenomena should first be attempted in terms of what is already known.

Writing this blog has led me to interact with other blogs, theories, ideas, movements, and ultimately brought me into the space of strangers. The world is a very magical arena of experiences and thought. The energy created between enthusiasm and conviction is a powerful magnet, which requires tools of discipline and focus to harness.

The internet is full of doorways to time …… productive and wasteful. I need to put the pen down until my next book I need to study, which is arriving tomorrow. I am restricting my blogging. A self imposed rule: Read then Report.

My observations were forever changed after I read a book years ago, Gladwell’s “The Tipping Point: which theorizes that the levels at which the momentum for change becomes unstoppable. Gladwell defines a tipping point as a sociological term: “the moment of critical mass, the threshold, the boiling point.” The book seeks to explain and describe the “mysterious” sociological changes that mark everyday life.

The very nature of the news has high lighted events in which were once rare phenomenon but quickly becoming common place. There is just too much information, theories, beliefs, and sides which are manifesting as distractions.

So today I will apply Ockham’s Razor. I will not write about the latest report on the news. I will not think about the political agendas of the left, the right, and the world. I will not engage in board room discussions of current events. I will not speculate on what is right or wrong with this day and time. I will not try to figure out who is pulling the strings, what is happening, or what I need to do to get involved. In fact, I better turn off the TV.

What will I do?

I have an essay to work on. The topic, format, and questions provided. Perfect! I will answer considering only two of the simplest possibilities.

Report back when I finish that book I was mentioning earlier.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

